Chase Great – Feel great

With the Olympic Games starting today I reflect my own experience running my first full Marathon 3 years ago. Be honest – do you still have it on your life tick box as a to do ?

Do you keep saying I get exhausted after 3 miles walk – how could I ever run 26.2 miles ? Well – welcome to the club, I kept saying the same, but this year I am going to run my fourth marathon. I am convinced, that if you don´t have a serious disease which prevents you from getting it started – everybody can do it. After passing the finish line, to me it was such a feeling of being proud about myself. The maximum amount of endorphines circulating in your veines remains for days and provides you with such an energy which enables you to get things done, start new projects or gives you a total different angle on something you thought you might did right for years, but you haven´t. So what have I done to achieve this goal?

1. preparation is key

Even if I said everybody can do it, it doesn´t mean that you can do it from the scratch. The right preparation is key to success. Today you have endless opportunities to do a research on training plans, nutritions, shoes or gadgets like running watches or mobile apps. Take your time to do it. There are many ways, opinions and advises on how to do it – and many of them are right. There is no single way of doing it perfect. Use best cases like you would do it in your job and transfer it to your own style and condition. Try it out what feels best for you. Some of you may like to do training hours in the morning – others late after work. Listen to your body what feels best. I read many websites, blogs, articles or journals to find my own style and equipment. You would do it for any work related project too. Just one advice – less is more. Find some nice shorts and shirt, buy comfortable shoes in a specialized store (not online) and get yourself a nice sports watch – that´s it. All this energy drinks and sports nutrition to me is useless. Lot´s of water and a banana is doing the same. I prefer a sports watch over an sports app because I don´t want to be distracted while running. When I run I focus on my performance and my goal. When you carry your phone with you to get the running apps working you can always be distracted by incoming calls or messages. (don´t tell me you switch it off) Secondly – if you´re training long distances there is always the chance to have some rain (I am living in Ireland) which may can kill your phone – even equipped with plastic protection.

2. Set milestones – be patient

Do you want to achieve your target quick? You won´t do it when you prepare for a marathon. You will win in small steps. Depending on your fitness level start with small distances but do them regularly. Look for some fun runs and competitions in your area like 5 K runs, family runs. No matter what it is, but subscribe to them because they are your commitment to keep on training. Subscribe to other runs in the nearer future which will be your next achievable goal. Keep it going. You can set yourself a monthly target as well in regards to the amount of miles you want to run in 4 weeks. This keeps you flexible on the time commitment you have on this. Whatever it is, be patient and don´t over pace. Rome was´t built in a day. Give yourself easy 5 months at least to prepare. To me it worked really well to run in the first month some 5K, in the second month some 10 K, in the third month some 10 miles, in the fourth month two half marathons and in the fifth month one or two 30 K to test how far I could go. Always allow yourself as much breaks as you need. Your body will tell you.

3. Be realistic

When you run your first marathon, the only goal you can have – is finishing it. It is about the run itself – and it is about your health and condition. We´re all no pro athletes – it is our hobby and spare time. So you should enjoy it and don´t make it a torture. You will see, a marathon is not as an individual sports as you think. You will be surprised about the vibes and buzz when you do your wave starts among thousands of others. People are running with you on the track for a certain period, push and encourage you and pull you as well. Don´t go too fast at the start. Many unexperienced runners are doing it because they are excited about the people and supporters. I always knew what I wanted to run per kilometer and had a keen view on my watch to measure it. During training you will quickly find out what your best pace per km is. Stick to it all the time and not to be as fast as the people in front of you – even if you get overtaken multiple times. It is not about them – it is about you.

IMG_20160410_093013#chasegreat

Do you have this adventure still on you life tick box ? Tell me your experiences ?

About monissen
- raised up analogue - arrived in the digital age - now working in Munich - living in Bremerhaven - lived and worked in Dublin, Ireland - the heart of IT, and fell in love - lived and fell in love in and with Andalusia before - born in Northern Germany, Eckernförde - affinity for lyrics in general - like reading - like running - enjoying life

Leave a Reply

