Content vs. Distribution

I have never read so much different articles in my life before. Articles from newspapers, magazines, blogs, forums, groups and whatever. It is amazing. Never had such a huge data consumption before, never been informed and uptodate like this. The internet is the perfect platform for getting content right at the moment when I need it. Years ago the public library was my source of truth. And for sure – I liked this quiet environment with this aristocratic touch of education. But what I liked more, was to discuss and share the information. It was the starting point of standing behind a topic, to defend it and to increase the wider, holistic view on someting. To win or lose but mostly to enjoy the benifit of debating about it. Because content is one thing – but the individual view on it makes it alive and interesting. It is about your identity.

I enjoy persons with a strong attitude having an opinion on something. No matter if it is mine or not. Today I can get my desired content on many ways. Mainly pro-actively adjusting my google news (rss-feeds before), newsletter subscriptions or timeline. But what really is enriching the source of content is yours. The one I was not aware of and I would never have found it – unless you shared it with me. The real winning situation about spreading information and content is to share it. Which you do, I am sure. But – the question is, how do you see yourself with the content you share? What is the story behind the story? Why did you share exactly this article? Because you work in marketing and you are interested in that specific topic? Fine. You work in IT, you support an NGO or a political party? Perfect. I really admire that you gave me a view on it. Or at least you shared the content. But what you have missed and an increasing number of people is missing as well is – what is your view on it? How do you think about this content? Something what comes up into your mind which is especially important about this article? Something you agree or disagree on? Or most important – have you even read it?

Are you giving content, real content, or are you just a distributor? When you want to work on and design your digital identity, you really should have one. It is not only about just sharing something which I am grateful about, it as about telling me – the world, what is your view on it. This is what I describe as real content. So next time, please do me a favour and tell me in the comment field, why the content you shared was important to you and let me know your thoughts on it. This is how content works. Don´t be just a distributor – be a content creator.

About monissen
- raised up analogue - arrived in the digital age - now working in Munich - living in Bremerhaven - lived and worked in Dublin, Ireland - the heart of IT, and fell in love - lived and fell in love in and with Andalusia before - born in Northern Germany, Eckernförde - affinity for lyrics in general - like reading - like running - enjoying life

Leave a Reply

