My Marathon Short Story

My thoughts during a full marathon in
Kilometres.

0-5 Km – Great day, great run. Lovely people. I like this crowd. Today I definitely will beat my personal best (Pb)
5-10 Km – I need to find my own pace. When will all these people go out of my way.  I feel really good. Wow,  how fast I am. Everything goes easy.
10-15 Km – I should have subscribed for a faster start time. I am far ahead of the pacemaker. I am thirsty now.
15-20 Km – When I go on with this pace the time should not be too bad. Wow,  only 20 Km so far.
20-25 Km – I can go for a short moment. i was very fast at the beginning. Why is this adipose guy still in front of me?
25-30 Km – Was this wind from the front all the time there?  It makes me f**king slow. The runners around me are annoying.
30-35 Km – I hate running. What a stupid idea. I hate you as well pacemaker for passing by.
35-40 Km – PB is not relevant. If I ever should finish it was definitely my last run. Where is the f**king waterstation?
40-finish Km – Can all this bloody people please stop shouting at me?  I can’t get faster and I don’t care about the fat man finishing before me. Never, ever again.

Finish + 30 minutes – (full of endorphins) what a great run, what a great experience. I love the crowd. Looking forward to the next one.

To be continued.

About monissen
- raised up analogue - arrived in the digital age - now working in Munich - living in Bremerhaven - lived and worked in Dublin, Ireland - the heart of IT, and fell in love - lived and fell in love in and with Andalusia before - born in Northern Germany, Eckernförde - affinity for lyrics in general - like reading - like running - enjoying life

2 Responses to My Marathon Short Story

  1. golddh says:

    I love the 40-Finish. There is such a disconnect between what we need and what people think we need…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

