Haruki Murakimi about long-distance running and writing novels

What I Talk About When I Talk About RunningWhat I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A really nice book and I enjoyed reading it. A running novelist, a writer who runs. At least a normal human who writes about challenges of getting older as a man and a sportsman. It is easy reading while commuting with a train or bus and paints nice pictures about races, tracks, sceneries, landscapes. It is a different kind of approach of describing long-distance running from an open and honest perspective. It is definitely NOT written as a guidline how to run a marathon, what gadgets or shoes do you need and what kind of training will be advisable.
It is about a man who tells about how he enjoys running. He could even tell you this at an open fire place with a reasonable glass of red wine.
I am myself a long-distance runner as well. Having the same kind of frequency running one full marathon a year. But I am definitely not as addicted as the author running every day. I felt a little bit embarressed and jealous while reading about his stamina and will. At the end it motivated me to train a bit harder. It was worth it.

View all my reviews

About monissen
- raised up analogue - arrived in the digital age - now working in Munich - living in Bremerhaven - lived and worked in Dublin, Ireland - the heart of IT, and fell in love - lived and fell in love in and with Andalusia before - born in Northern Germany, Eckernförde - affinity for lyrics in general - like reading - like running - enjoying life

Leave a Reply

